Play with Me, Human!

Ok, so as I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to cat parenting (my family cat’s favourite toy is a screwed up ball of foil – super high tech!), I was wondering what are the BEST cat toys out there? :cat2:

Hit me with your recommendations: anyone got any top picks that can keep a cat entertained for hours on end?

Although I have a feeling that the below might be upsettingly accurate :joy_cat:

Cat toy meme

1 Like

-Laser pointers are always a home run
-making tents and castles out of cardboard boxes (see attached picture) Cookie will sometimes spend hours in one box sleeping and another playing in it

• I think the automatically moving balls and fish are pretty cool ideas I’d want to try
  • cats love a good cat wand/fishing pole :fishing_pole_and_fish: (i.e pole/stick with feathers and toys at the end of a string) tip: make sure that any feathers are real!! So if the cat eats it - and they will - it is safe! Fake feathers will be a choking hazard or mess up there stomachs

Hope this helps :relaxed:

1 Like

Those are amazing ideas, thank you so much!

I’d forgotten about laser pointers, I think you can get endless play out of them, and we hear so many stories of cats and their cardboard boxes - maybe keeping it simple is better?

Also, what a beautiful photo of Cookie, her colouring is gorgeous! :heart_eyes_cat:

Chetta loves to play with balls, and she has some with strings attached, with rattles in, others that are felt and some pompoms, both of which are great for her to pick up in her mouth. The best 20 quid i have ever spent is on a playmat for her, that she hides in and zooms in and out of, and gets a lot of fun from hunting for her toys in.

She loves a fishing rod toy with feathers and a bell, we play with that for hours - it gives her the satisfaction of the chase and then the kill.

2 Likes

Oooh, I’ve never heard of a cat playmat before - that sounds like great fun :blue_heart: